There are times when you may want to disable a user account. This may be true, for example, when employees leave your company. Even though you no longer employ the person, you may still need reporting related to them. Making a user inactive also gives you the flexibility to make the user active at a later date. By contrast, when you delete a user from the database, records related to them are lost.